Results tagged ‘ Jairo Beras ’

Riding Through the Farm: Rangers Organization Off to Perfect Start

Happy Friday, everyone! Opening Day has come and gone in Minor League Baseball. As we enter day two, the Rangers are the only organization to have all four of their affiliates win last night, thanks to victories from Frisco, Round Rock, High Desert and Hickory yesterday. Two other organizations (Boston and Toronto) also went undefeated yesterday, but some of their affiliates didn’t play due to inclement weather.

20849573566_445e2759e3_o

Joey Gallo and the Round Rock Express picked up a 7-3 win at Iowa yesterday

We’ve already written plenty about the RoughRiders shutout win at Northwest Arkansas last night, led by 6 solid innings from starter Frank Lopez, a clutch double by Ryan Cordell and big-time pitching late in the game when the pressure situations came up. So as you get ready for game two tonight at 7:05 (listen live online or on the TuneIn Radio app), we wanted to give you a quick look at some of the stars throughout the organization yesterday.

TRIPLE-A ROUND ROCK EXPRESS (7-3 win at Iowa)

The Express didn’t waste any time getting on the board in the season opener, scoring twice in the top of the 1st and then putting up a 5-spot in the 3rd to start the year on a winning note.

Tonight: Game 2 at Iowa, 7:08 pm

CLASS-A ADVANCED HIGH DESERT MAVERICKS (10-5 win vs Inland Empire)

Travis Demeritte, MLB.com’s no. 21 prospect in the Rangers organization, made his High Desert debut in a memorable way, and the Mavericks scored 6 runs over the first 3 innings to pick up the Opening Day win.

Tonight: Game 2 vs Inland Empire, 8:35 pm

CLASS-A HICKORY CRAWDADS (5-1 win vs Kannapolis)

Rangers no. 16 prospect Andy Ibanez and no. 11 prospect Brett Martin was effective in his four innings on the mound for the Crawdads, as they began their defense of the South Atlantic League title with a win.

  • IF Andy Ibanez: 4-5, 3B, 4 RBI
  • LHP Brett Martin: 4.0 IP, 4 H, 1 R (0 ER), 2 BB, 8 K
  • RHP Tyler Davis: 3.0 IP, 2 H, 0 ER, 1 BB, 4 K to pick up the win in relief

Tonight: Game 2 at Kannapolis, 6:05 pm – Rangers no. 4 prospect Dillon Tate is scheduled to start

Stay tuned for more updates from the farm system over the course of the season.

– Ryan

Baseball term of the day: Foozler – A lucky base hit.

(term from The Dickson Baseball Dictionary

The 2013 (Nearly) Complete Twitter Guide…: Part Two – The Players

This post is a continuation of an earlier post compiling the essential Twitter handles to keep up with the Texas Rangers farm system and Texas League. You can find all entries here

A little over a week ago, I posted twitter handles for the teams in the Texas Rangers system and the Texas league, along with broadcasters and other key employees in the league and the Rangers’ farm. Today, I submit Part Two of “The 2013 (Nearly) Complete Twitter Guide to the Frisco RoughRiders, the Texas League and the Rangers Farm System,” or TNCTG. If you want to check Part One – go here.

Today: a list of the players. This is, to my knowledge, an exhaustive list of the Frisco RoughRiders in addition to as many twitter handles I could find of Texas Rangers at the MLB and MiLB levels. As always, comment below or tweet me (@NathanSBarnett) with additional follows. I will update this as I can as the season moves along. If you want to use a list to keep track of these players, the RoughRiders Twitter handle has a 2013 RoughRiders list and I have one compiling as many current Rangers MLB and MiLB players that I can find.

_________________________

TNCTG PART TWO – The Players

(as of 05/17/13)

2013 Frisco RoughRiders

Current RoughRiders:

Hanser Alberto ‏ @elpotroalberto (#15 ranked prospect in Texas system by Baseball America)

Cody Buckel ‏  @Cheatcode07 (#8)

Randy Henry ‏ @RandyHenry51 (#29)

Odubel Herrera ‏ @odubelherrera1frisco roughriders logo

Jared Hoying ‏ @jhoying3035

Teodoro Martinez ‏ @martinezteo

Brett Nicholas ‏ @bnicholas15

Kevin Pucetas ‏ @KPucetas

Jimmy Reyes ‏ @jimmymreyes

Ryan Rodebaugh ‏ @RRodey

Ben Rowen ‏ @B_Rowen

Ryan Strausborger ‏ @Ryan_Straus

Zach Zaneski ‏ @ZZaneski

RoughRiders to play in 2013, now off roster:

Jake Brigham ‏ @jbrigham49 (Triple-A)

Ross Wolf ‏ @18RGW (Triple-A)

Other players in the Texas Rangers System:

MLB:

Elvis Andrus ‏ @ElvisandrusSS1

Nelson Cruz ‏ @ncboomstick17

ダルビッシュ有(Yu Darvish) ‏ @faridyu

Neftali Feliz ‏ @NefFeliz

Josh Frasier ‏ @Frasier66 (bullpen catcher)

Leury Garcia ‏ @leurygarcia1 (#20)

Justin Grimm ‏ @GrimmReaper51 (#5)

Derek Holland ‏ @Dutch_Oven45texas_rangers-9679

Michael Kirkman ‏ @MikeKirkman50

Josh Lindblom  @JoshLindblom52 

Leonys Martin ‏ @leonys27martin (#4)

Joe Nathan ‏ @JoeNathan36

Martin Perez ‏ @MartinPerez33D (#3)

Jurickson Profar ‏ @JURICKSONPROFAR (#1 ranked prospect overall by Baseball America)

Robbie Ross ‏ @Ross_108

Joakim Soria ‏ @joakimsoria

Triple-A Round Rock:

Chad Bell ‏ @ChadBell19 (Injured just before beginning of the season, finished 2012 with Express)

Engel Beltre ‏ @engelbeltre07

Lisalverto Bonilla ‏ @propecto1

Jake Brigham ‏ @jbrigham49

Robinson Chirinos  @robinson28chrr_express_logo_detail

Michael Olt ‏ @molt2222 (#2)

Yangervis Solarte ‏ @yanyi26_12

Yoshinori Tateyama ‏ @tatetatetateyan

Ross Wolf ‏ @RGW

Advanced-A Myrtle Beach:

Alec Asher ‏ @Ash_Tag24

Kellin Deglan ‏ @keldegs

Royce Bolinger ‏ @roycebolinger

Zach Cone ‏ @ZachCone (#24)

Ryan Harvey ‏ @Hammer32jetlifepelicans

Luke Jackson ‏ @YaBoy77 (#6)

Will Lamb ‏ @LamboLeap30

Nick Martinez ‏ @nickmartinez10 (#27)

Rougned Odor ‏ @RougnedOdor (#11)

Drew Robinson ‏ @drewrobinsonnn

Jake Skole ‏ @JakeSkole15

Joe Van Meter ‏ @JVanMeter28

Class-A Hickory Crawdads:

Jorge Alfaro ‏ @_JorgeAlfaro11 (#9)

Ryan Bores ‏ @RyanBores

Lewis Brinson ‏ @LewisBrinson (#12)

Eric Brooks ‏ @itsEricBrooks

Coby Cowgill ‏ @CobyCowgill_RHP

C.J. Edwards ‏ @CEdwardsSBS (#14)

Joey Gallo ‏ @JoeyGallo24 (#10)

David Lyon ‏ @DLyonKSU36Hickory_Crawdads

Joe Maloney ‏ @JoeBoMalones

Nomar Mazara ‏ @NomarMzra26 (#16)

Luis Mendez ‏ @mendezluis932

Ryan Rua ‏ @Rua_Numba_2

Connor Sadzeck ‏ @connorsadzeck

Ryne Slack ‏ @Slack28

Nick Vickerson ‏ @Nick_Vickerson

Nick Williams ‏ @NW1superstar (#25)

Players yet to be assigned (either hurt or will be in either Rookie or Short-Season A)

Jairo Beras ‏ @jairoberas (#18)

Janluis Castro ‏ @Jaanluis

Guy Edmonds ‏ @EdmondsGuy

Brandon Garcia ‏ @BrandonGarcia_

Ronald Guzman ‏ @_ronaldguzman (#17)

Jamie Jarmon ‏ @jjarmon34

Kevin Matthews ‏ @kevmat1

Barrett Serrato ‏ @bserrato23

Nick Urbanus ‏ @NickUrb

Brett Weibley ‏ @wild_stallion5

Collin Wiles ‏ @cwiles11

_________________________

– Nathan

Baseball term of the day: fuzzy concreteartificial turf